Not detecting NVME (MSI A320M Pro-VH using an A320M-A Pro BIOS)

JRMDEEz
Go to solution Solved by JRMDEEz,

Thanks for the help but i have found a better and straightforward solution

After quite some tinkering, i managed to fix the issue

My theory was correct that the shop/manuf. managed to flash the BIOS from another model

I resolved it by flashing the A320M Pro-VH BIOS using UEFI Shell flashing tool from MSI forum to bypass that error message

After that, it detected the NVME drive

the motherboard that I bought is a brand new MSI A320M Pro-VH

that's what's displayed on the box

the Motherboard model number is MS-7C52 ver 1.2

The problem

at first, the motherboard is fine, I have been using it for 4 months, then when I bought an NVME drive and inserted it into the M.2 slot, it does not show in the bios and on the win10 and win11 boot media

I checked the drive If it's working, it is a Kingston NV2 1Tb, i have 2 of them

I plugged the NVME into a PCIE adapter and it shows on the other PC (i3 2nd gen), it shows in the win10 disk partition manager

troubleshooting

I tried cleaning the port... -nothing, tried the other drive... -nothing, tried updating the bios... -what! not compatible??

then I tried to update the BIOS version in the M-Flash, after some trouble (NTFS flash drive, does not accept FAT32 because file not detected), I managed to select a BIOS file, but I'm greeted with

"the bios you selected is not for this MB"

I checked the current BIOS version and it shows as E7C51AMS.171, which DOES NOT EXIST in the Pro-VH version

if you parse the current version it will be "E7C51AMS.171" -> "7C51v171" which you can find on the A320M-A PRO BIOS list

why its a problem:

the A320M-A PRO does not have an NVME slot compared to mine MSI A320M Pro-VH, I have a hunch that the M-A version of the BIOS is messing up because the firmware does not know that the M.2 slot exists

Note: