Graduation Present/Lockdown Pay build

I'm graduating college with my Bachelors in Physics, and for a graduation present to myself I want to build a 1080p/1440p gaming setup. I have never built a gaming pc before and wanted to get some feedback on my planned rig to make sure I'm not overspending on something, or creating a bottleneck that will ruin everything.

1: Budget & Location

Utah, USA. Budget: Sub $900 (just pc parts. I have other plans for OS and peripherals)

2: Aim

I want to do High 1080p/Low to Mid 1440p gaming. Lots of skyrim mods, fallout 4 mods, starcraft 2, elden ring (when it comes out), and likely whatever Star Wars games come out in the next 2-3 years.

3: Monitors

I currently have a Vizio d24f-f1 24" 1080p 60Hz tv that I plan to use as my monitor (24ms response time), and would like to buy a 27"-30" 1440p (max 120Hz) monitor in the future. I've never experienced high refresh rate gaming, and have never run anything better than an Xbox One S in my life.

4: Peripherals

I have a mouse, and plan on buying a cheap (~$20) logitech keyboard from walmart or best buy when my parts get here. My plan is to copy all my files (including OS) from the 500GB SATA ssd in my laptop to my new computer, but i have no clue if that's possible or will work. If it doesn't I plan on using the pirate windows 7 then upgrade to windows 10 loophole, but am open to other suggestions.

5: Why am I upgrading?

I've never had a gaming pc (i currently have an xbox one s that I use to play with my friends and a Dell Inspiron 15 5565 with an A12-9700P, 8 gigs of ram, integrated graphics and an ssd I had Geek Squad put in.) I want to run games that neither of those can, such as starcraft 2, heavily modded skyrim/fallout, elden ring (eventually), MCC on windows, as well as some light AutoCAD when i want to design something like a shooting target or a fence. The AutoCAD does't happen often.