VB.NET & Active Directory

Hellooo,

Having an issue with AD in VB.Net and hoping someone on here will be able to help. I am very new to AD in VB so its probably a really simple solution but I can't seem to find it on google.

I need to connect to AD to pull a users details and searching by their username.

so the code I have is...

Dim rootEntry As New System.DirectoryServices.DirectoryEntry("--Domain--")
        Dim searcher As New DirectorySearcher(rootEntry)
        Dim ctx As New PrincipalContext(ContextType.Domain)
        Dim user As UserPrincipal = UserPrincipal.FindByIdentity(ctx, txtUsername.Text)
        If user IsNot Nothing Then
        Else
            MessageBox.Show("Student is not found in Active Directory, please check the username and try again")
            Exit Sub
        End If

searcher.PropertiesToLoad.Add("cn")
        searcher.PropertiesToLoad.Add("extensionAttribute1")
        searcher.PropertiesToLoad.Add("displayName")
        searcher.PropertiesToLoad.Add("mail")
        searcher.Filter = "(&(anr=" & txtUsername.Text & ")(objectCategory=person))"
        Dim results As SearchResultCollection
        results = searcher.FindAll()
        Dim result As SearchResult
        For Each result In results
            StudentName = result.Properties("displayName")(0)
            StudentNumber = result.Properties("extensionattribute1")(0)
            sEmail = result.Properties("mail")(0)
        Next
        Status.Text = "Loading data from SQL Database, This may take several minutes..."

and this works almost perfectly.... with this I can pull up a users email, full name, user ID all from just their username. There is no need to sign in with a username and password as AD is read only to everyone on the network.