PC freezes when trying to access BIOS

First, let me say that yes, I have read the READ ME topic on this section and have done everything except update the bios because i can't access the bios and don't know if windows is 100% stable to do it through there.

SPECS:

CPU: i5-8500

PSU: EVGA 650 watt Gold+ 

Motherboard: ASUS TUF B360m (not the plus model)

RAM: 2x8GB corsair vengeance 2333 

GPU: MSI AERO 1070

Storage: Kingston 128gb sata ssd as boot drive, a 500gb WD sata m.2 ssd, and a 1tb seagate hdd

note: all this hardware is less than a year old at this point and i have a cooler master rgb bar running off the rgb header, an evga aio cooler, and i built the rig myself

With that out of the way, here is my problem: 

1. I shut down pc through windows and went to sleep to find that the fans and led's were still on in the case but not on keyboard/mouse.

2. couldn't switch from speakers to headphones in windows (the options weren't there) 

3. windows booted and was working fine (even playing a csgo to test)  once i hard shutdown with the power button and flicked the PSU switch on and off

4. Tried to get into bios and PC froze with black screen as soon as i started pressing delete to get into UEFI/BOS, requiring another power button turn off.

5. if i don't touch anything, PC boots to windows with NO asus splash screen, and windows seems stable, it plays steam games normally and dolphin emulator.

6. I also did notice that file explorer was freezing when i had an external usb3 hdd plugged in and tried to access it. ( the external drive is an old laptop drive i bought from freegeek that i have in a case that converts the sata to usb that i keep ROMS on.) it worked fine after i shutdown and unpolugged the drive though.

IN SHORT WINDOWS WORKS FINE BUT AS SOON AS I TRY TO ACCESS BIOS/UEFI IT FREEZES AND BLACK SCREENS