Displays for Productivity and Gaming

Hello to all LinusTech!! This is my first time posting in the forums and I am asking for some more experienced advice. I have been tech-savvy for all my life but I find myself unable to come up with a good solution to my monitors. When I first built my current system over a year ago (Ivy bridge based), I found myself only wanting to game and do homework. But now that I have taken on Photography and Video Editing as a side job for fun and extra money, and as a consiquence I went out and bought the first decent looking IPS 1080p display I could find (was using 1600X900 AOC monitor). I noticed very quickly that eventhough it was better than my 900p monitor, the colors aren't quite what I want and I feel that for editing and my video card it might not be the best solution. Below are a few detaisl for all of you to consider:

This is the monitor that I bought on a whim: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/hp-pavilion-25-ips-led-hd-monitor/7295041.p

And this is my Video Card which I really like: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125462&cm_re=gigabyte_windforce_gtx_770-_-14-125-462-_-Product

I felt very noobish for buying the display, but I am open to finding a different solution. I am thinking 1440p is the right way to go, but I was wondering if there wre specific ones to get and ones to avoid. I watch tons of YouTube videos and have seen some, but I would like to get a community opinion about this setup. Since I game I want a decent response rate but also want good colors, and I want at least a dual setup for prodictivity. The budget I have for this is pretty open as I am patient and can save money if there is something better that will last me longer and is worth saving money.

I really appreciate any and all suggestions for this monitor set up.

Thanks!

P.S. I always planned to replace my cheap horrible 1600X900 monitor but it was only $50 and worked for a few months.