Restricting Drives to specific Users

Hello all

I have recently just bought a new drive for my PC to store all of my media backup but I do not want anyone else to be able to access that drive other than me. As I am not the only one using the computer I would just like to restrict drives to specific users (ie non admin users). I have tried going to properties-security-security permissions and tried to change the permissions of non administrators to no access but because even as an administrator I still fall under the standard user group policy for some reason and when I set the permission it also denies me access to the drive. I have taken ownership of the drive and still no luck. I wonder if any of you fine people would know how to get round this.

thank you in advance

Sean

Try using BitLocker.

Please quote or tag me @Void Master,so i can see your reply.

Everyone was a noob at the beginning, don't be discouraged by toxic trolls even if u lose 15 times in a row. Keep training and pushing yourself further and further, so u can show those sorry lots how it's done !

Be a supportive player, and make sure to reflect a good image of the game community you are a part of. 

Don't kick a player unless they willingly want to ruin your experience.

We are the gamer community, we should take care of each other !

I wasn't aware bitlocker was able to restrict drives to certain users, I'm not looking to encrypt the drive

Just now, Seanbg said:

I wasn't aware bitlocker was able to restrict drives to certain users, I'm not looking to encrypt the drive

It restricts access by the fact that only those with the password can access it.  Any other method is easily defeated if it's a locally shared computer that everyone has physical access to.  Permissions are a pain to setup and can be bypassed in minutes by anyone with even a slight amount of computer knowledge.