Overclocking a reference 980 ti

TYCriswell2

I am new to overclocking, actually never done it before. And I am building a water cooled PC in the summer of 2016 and I was wandering how to overclock a graphics card. I just go done watching Luke explaining factory overclock, and I think I would just want to water cool the GPU and do it myself. If anyone has a handy video or a guide I would be thankful. Keep in mind I am a very visual person so I need to see it be done. A video would be better. Thank you for your help :).

I am new to overclocking, actually never done it before. And I am building a water cooled PC in the summer of 2016 and I was wandering how to overclock a graphics card. I just go done watching Luke explaining factory overclock, and I think I would just want to water cool the GPU and do it myself. If anyone has a handy video or a guide I would be thankful. Keep in mind I am a very visual person so I need to see it be done. A video would be better. Thank you for your help :).

Watercooling the card:

Overclocking:

The 980 ti is limited by its maximum power limit of 110%.  This is still enough to get some reasonable overclocks, however, if you want to get the most out of your card you will have to flash a custom BIOS onto it.  I would recommend this since you are planning to water cool the card and the performance increase can be significant, but that's up to you.

Instructions and modded bios can be found here:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1558645/official-nvidia-gtx-980-ti-owners-club#

Other overclocking results can give you an idea of what to expect:

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1865303

My watercooled 980 ti with EK Titan X waterblock:

121% power limit

1.281v

1520 mHz Core clock (+330)

7872 mHz Memory (+430) (still tweaking, can probably go higher)

~40 degrees max temp

From what I have observed from other people the 980 ti will usually not go much higher than 1500 mHz, even with higher power limits.