Turning a Dell XPS 420 into a gaming machine

eugene1

Hi All,

I am new to this good forum but have been watching some of the linus tech tips videos.

Anyway, I have a Dell XPS 420 with a q6600 2.4 ghz quad core intel, 3gb ram (will be upgraded to 8gb ddr2 ram soon), 2x 500 gb raid 0 hard drives, 375w psu.

I was thinking of buying a geforce 750 ti for about £100 - 110, but after some searching online a lot of people seem to rate the R9 270x a lot better and I think that one is about £20 - 35 more. The slight problem with the 270x is that I would have to buy another power supply. So to cut a long story short, when I looked into psu's i saw some forums recommending the R9 280, and now I am a bit stuck on what to do.

Do I just pay the £110 for the 750 ti and sitck with that for a year or so until I can save up money to buy / build another pc, or should I go for one of the cards and upgrade the psu, with the potential of maybe using the psu or graphics in the new pc in a year or so.

Some of the games that I have in my steam library that I would like to play is the witcher 1 and 2, fallout 3 etc. I normally buy steam games when they are about 60 - 75 percent off.

I was just looking for some advice and discussion on what I should do.

Thank You in advance for your advice and opinions

Hi All,

I am new to this good forum but have been watching some of the linus tech tips videos.

Anyway, I have a Dell XPS 420 with a q6600 2.4 ghz quad core intel, 3gb ram (will be upgraded to 8gb ddr2 ram soon), 2x 500 gb raid 0 hard drives, 375w psu.

I was thinking of buying a geforce 750 ti for about £100 - 110, but after some searching online a lot of people seem to rate the R9 270x a lot better and I think that one is about £20 - 35 more. The slight problem with the 270x is that I would have to buy another power supply. So to cut a long story short, when I looked into psu's i saw some forums recommending the R9 280, and now I am a bit stuck on what to do.