DAC/AMP yes or no?

needmorewood

Ok i've been searching around allot for a USB dac and/or amp
my setup revolves around a lenovo y580 powering everything as a desktop replacement
these are my requests to fill if possible

1. Price of around $100 IF its worth it (ie if something $50 is only slightly worse than might as well get that)

2. portability is optional 
3. would prefer if it was from canada Computers 
4. Links!!! makes my life easier :P

5. these are for my custom one pro's!! 

can anyone explain the purpose of the amp? cause then i might just get a dac only. IF an amp just makes it louder than i really dont need it 

as u can see im new to this audio stuff dont make fun of me :P

FINAL DECISION: will get the E10 in the next couple of days... just busy atm
thanks everyone that helped

they all look great!

can u explain the differences between the e10 and e17? e17 is double the price... if its worth it ill save up but if not ill go for e10

can u explain the differences between the e10 and e17?

It's a 24bit / 96 Khz DAC instead of the E10 which is 16 bit / 44 Khz.  Do you have 24/96 FLAC files?  If not, it probably won't make a major difference.

"Pardon my French but this is just about the most ignorant blanket statement I've ever read. And though this is the internet, I'm not even exaggerating."

the e17 can be docked to the e9, and can be used as an amp only from a phone or other media player.

Will work for electronic components and parts

Reviews: Meelec CC51P - Monoprice 8323 - Koss Porta Pros  - Shure SRH-440 - Shure SRH-550DJShure SRH-840 - Hifiman He-500 - iBasso D4 - o2 Amplifier  -  SkeletonDac

It's a 24bit / 96 Khz DAC instead of the E10 which is 16 bit / 44 Khz.  Do you have 24/96 FLAC files?  If not, it probably won't make a major difference.

this may be a bad question but how do i check ive checked file properties and im really not sure how to check. they are flac files though