GTX 980 Stuttering/FPS drops in game (help needed)

Daniel_Lawson9999

I'm new to the LTT community forums and thought this would be a good place to go to with the problems I have been having. I'm new to high performance desktop gaming computers in general, and have recently built a computer using cyberpowerpcs. If this would help solve the current issue I have the general specs are : I7 6700k, 16gb adata ddr4 ram, evga supernova 750 watts, and a msi gtx 980 (the oc white version with no backplate). This system also has no overclocks and is running windows 10. It functioned extremely well in games until a few days ago. After playing assassins creed syndicate for a while (almost maxed out settings) I had no problems, until I started randomly encountering almost constant fps drops. I tried messing with the settings and still had these problems on lower settings and tried vsync on/off but nothing seemed to fix the problems. I was then frustrated and with the game and played something else, moving on to Planetside 2 with everything working perfectly on max settings. Today I purchased rocket league, and the problems continued. I started having continued fps drops in the game, and then tried playing planetside 2 again but this time had problems. At this point the problems seemed very random and annoying. I tried various tips to help fix common issues with the gtx 980 which were things like changing the power management mode, but this did nothing. Finally, I did a fresh nvidia driver install. This seemed to fix the issues I had been having for about an hour until..... it continued again. At this point I don't know what to do, any advice?

Other information: relatively low temperatures gpu 27-30c stock, and 50-55 under load, but GPU fans seem to be at 100% speed in real life although they are set on a dynamic/automatic mode.

Please help!