Trying to decide on a new PC

bissquitt

My 2 thoughts are a new Surface Pro or a custom built rig. If I go surface, I would like my entire photo editing workflow to go there. Gaming can stick to the desktop with dedicated GPU. Otherwise desktop for both but no portability.

Current hardware:

I work in IT (But have not speced anything out or really dealt with hardware in AGES), I have tons of old hardware laying around. My current "Main" computer is an old Dell i7-4770 with a GTX 1050 thrown in and 24gb of RAM. This surprisingly does most of what I need it to. I also have a alienware m11x r3 which is a bit dated but still works ok, and a work laptop that is new compared to the rest of my hardware (i5-6550HQ).

What I use them for:

I was a gamer, though I rarely have much time anymore and mostly end up playing quick games or things most current gamers would laugh at, about the most intensive (and what prompted with 1050) was deus ex: mankind divided. Its the first one the baby alienware could not handle. The current system is enough. I don't have a problem playing on lower resolutions and turning most things off as long as it doesn't look TERRIBLE. The other intensive thing is photo editing. Mostly lightroom with a little photoshop. Photoshop runs fine on the current desktop, lightroom mostly runs fine, but occasionally lags. I think this may just be memory leaking though since a restart seems to help it and cpu/ram are far from maxed out when it happens. 

My desires:

1) I want something with modern "stuff", until I migrated to this desktop (discarded from a client) I didn't even have usb3. Usb-c or thunderbolt would be nice.