Changing fuse on amplifier line to battery.

Beef Boss
Go to solution Solved by MarbleHornets,
1 minute ago, veldora said:

Should I have everything plugged into the Amp first, then plug the power in? 

What could cause the sparking? It's never done that before. 

I'm pretty sure I had the ground in and everything. It's super dark out now so I packed everything up tonight. 

The way that I have always gone at it is having everything plugged into the amp then hooking up the amp to the power. And from what it sounds like, it just jumped from the wire to the connector, not terribly uncommon but defiantly always still gives me a jump no matter how small the sparks are, which is most likely the reason your fuse blew since power jumping like that tends to be pretty "dirty" power and can cause surges in lines.

Hi

I'm not an electrician. So what else do I do when I'm messing with potentially deadly lines, turn to a forum. 

While changing the orientation of my subwoofers, I disconnected the power line. Is that the first mistake? Is it better to disconnect the ground or power? 

Anyway, when I went to put the power connector back on, it shot out sparks. And broke the fuse. I probably made some stupid mistake. What do I do about this? I'm kinda scared to mess with it now, but I need to change that fuse. How do I go about doing that, safely? That was a 100 amp fuse, and the 200 pound gorilla on the potentially receiving side doesn't want to die. 

Corsair 4000D RGB

Asus B550 Tuf Gaming II

Asus 7700XT Tuf Gaming

AMD 5600x3d

32gb 3200mhz gskil