• More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Total noob soft pipe water cooling questions

Xaryon

Go to solution Solved by MedievalMatt,
12 minutes ago, Xaryon said:

Hi,

I'm really tempted to get into custom water cooling for my rig, but I can't wrap my head around it. If I understand it correctly:

- the simplest loop is reservoir -> pump (next to res, so it won't run dry) -> GPU -> CPU -> radiator + fan(s) -> res again.

Is this right?

Another thing: I don't understand how the hell is the GPU or CPU chip so cold compared to AIOs or air cooling, if the water is going from one block through another, taking even more heat.  Am I missing something?

order is not important past res -> pump -> whatever looks badass.

You could do res->pump->CPU->RAD->GPU->2nd RAD-> and back if you really wanted to.

and its not that your temps will be lower (though they will to a degree) its that water is much more effective at absorbing the heat and taking it somewhere else for dispersal.  This will mean better temps under load.

The fluid is also constantly circulating, so in terms of volume every second there is say a teaspoon of water in contact with your CPU block, then its gone.  Thats not enough time for the water to get hot enough to impact other components.  Order is not important at all.

Hi,

I'm really tempted to get into custom water cooling for my rig, but I can't wrap my head around it. If I understand it correctly:

- the simplest loop is reservoir -> pump (next to res, so it won't run dry) -> GPU -> CPU -> radiator + fan(s) -> res again.

Is this right?

Another thing: I don't understand how the hell is the GPU or CPU chip so cold compared to AIOs or air cooling, if the water is going from one block through another, taking even more heat.  Am I missing something?