What SSD for an artist (lots of saving)

Stottart

Hey all....as an artist I use a lot of 2d and 3d programs where Im constantly saving files.  What should I look for in an SSD or HDD so that it lasts longer since Im writing to the disk so often?

Thanks

2 minutes ago, Stottart said:

Hey all....as an artist I use a lot of 2d and 3d programs where Im constantly saving files.  What should I look for in an SSD or HDD so that it lasts longer since Im writing to the disk so often?

Thanks

Go with samsung SSDs,look for TBW if its 150(for samsung ssds it is,there is also 300TBW)

150TBW= around 40GB per day,if you are doing more than that go with hdd(but it'll be very slow for your usecase).

Modern SSDs really don't have a "lifetime". With load balancing they last a really.... really long time. (Longer than you'll ever have that PC)

Just make sure the data is backed up to a HDD and use the SSD as normal. 

But if you want more info.

https://www.compuram.de/blog/en/the-life-span-of-a-ssd-how-long-does-it-last-and-what-can-be-done-to-take-care/

SSDs with a higher "write cycle" count will technically last "longer" with high loads of data. Of course this depends on brand and capacity and blah blah blah

8 minutes ago, Electronics Wizardy said:

How much data are you saving a day? My guess is that endurance won't be near a issue, basically every modern ssd can take 100gb+ a day.

And even so, even with a 120 Gb ssd (worst case scenerio), at 100 gb per day and 3000ish write cycles, that's a bit less than 10 years.