Should I buy new parts?

mattdmg

Something I've wanted to do for a while now is make my PC more attractive visually

As it is currently, my PC is powerful enough to play everything I want to at 1080p 144hz. 

MOBO: B85M G43 

Case: Fractal Design Core 1300

i7 4790k (Stock)

G1 GTX 1070 (Stock)

16GB 1600mhz 

The first thing I'd like to change out for something better is a full ATX case. I've been using this micro ATX Fractal Core 1300 case for almost 4 years and I'm kind of sick of it. Now, this would have a really simple solution if my motherboard wasn't hideous. Now like my case, the motherboard was also budget so it doesn't support overclocking for my 4790k or DDR3 faster than 1600mhz. Also, the onboard audio is very poor, it's micro ATX, and it's ugly. 

To me, the obvious thing is to buy a used full ATX Z97 motherboard. I'll get better onboard audio, a full ATX board, overclocking support, etc. Is this my best option? I've looked on eBay for some but I'm really disappointed with the pricing on almost all of them.

I've also considered buying a new CPU, MOBO, and RAM just to swap everything out for updated parts. This obviously is way more expensive but after selling the old parts it might not be as bad of a hit. 

I'm just not sure if it's worth it to buy outdated parts from 2014 used off of eBay just for some eye candy which is why I'm leaning towards buying all new parts (especially with the upcoming sales this month). 

2 minutes ago, mattdmg said:

not sure if it's worth it to buy outdated parts from 2014 used off of eBay just for some eye candy

this is something you need to decide. we can't decide if it's worth it to you or not

in my opinion absolutely not worth the time and money, a case goes under the desk and serves the purpose of holding your components and providing airflow.

even if i would get a case for free i would probably not bother swapping it out simply because of the work it requires for very little benefit.