How to Use GPU (to fullest positional) with Broken PCIE MOBO?

Hello All,

I am new to the LTT Forum but frequently watch all the LMG videos etc. on youtube. I will make use as few words as possible to describe my issue and i'm hoping there are creative solutions, as i currently can't figure out the best.

-I am trying to make a computer for my friend to game on.
-I have an old MOBO that is 6700K compatible (I forget the socket type 1151 maybe?)

-The Board functions perfectly EXCEPT the 1x PCIE-16 slot.

-I use to have a salt lamp on top of my PC - and long and behold in the summer it starts to sweat and it eventually made its way into the PCIE pins and BLAM its Fawked now (tried cleaning and fixing pins too much                    corrosion.

-Is there any other way to salvage this MOBO by using another methodology to hook up a GPU to it? If so, I can build my friend a machine with this board. (also there is no discrete Display I/O on the Mobo)

Any suggestions? 

Thank you. 

2 minutes ago, DigiRev_MAC said:

~Snip~

get a second hand mobo, or just get a newer platform like 1151 v2 or am4

3 minutes ago, DigiRev_MAC said:

depends on the motherboard, if there is one, you can use the 8x slot, or maybe even another 16x slot

If you're formally an engineer, avoid responsibility. That's what senior engineers get paid for.

What's the motheboard model?

I WILL find your ITX build thread, and I WILL recommend the SIlverstone Sugo SG13B

Primary PC:

i7 8086k - EVGA Z370 Classified K - G.Skill Trident Z RGB - WD SN750 - Jedi Order Titan Xp - Hyper 212 Black (with RGB Riing flair) - EVGA G3 650W - dual booting Windows 10 and Linux - Black and green theme, Razer brainwashed me.

Draws 400 watts under max load, for reference.

How many watts do I needATX 3.0 & PCIe 5.0 spec, PSU misconceptions, protections explainedgroup reg is bad

Just now, TheThymo said:

depends on the motherboard, if there is one, you can use the 8x slot, or maybe even another 16x slot