Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Monitor doesn't go to "power saving mode"

Go to solution Solved by Mycielski,

Was not solved, I sold the Quadro 2000, and I use the onboard video instead.

Hi guys! This is my first time around here, and I would like to ask for some help! :)

Today I changed my old config, for a new desktop PC, and I would like to use my old monitor with the new PC.

With the old PC, my monitor (which is an ancient LG Flatron W1934S, with only D-SUB, VGA connector) went into "power saving mode" as I turned off the PC or it went to sleep, if it was idle. In the old PC the mointor was hooked up directly to the VGA port of my GTX 650.

So, today I fired up the new PC, and connected it to the monitor. All were good, but here comes the annoying problem. I have a Quadro 2000 in the new PC, and the display is connected through a DVI-VGA adaptor. I have image, and I can even set the native res of the display, but as soon as I turn off the new PC, or the display goes to 'sleep' when idle, the monitor doesn't go to "power saving mode", rather it has a moving text of "check signal cable". The problem is, that this way the monitor never turns off, and this message is very annoying!

I would like to ask for the help of the great LinusTechTips community, to help me sort it out, whether somehow I can setup the Quadro 2000 also, to send the monitor to this "power saving mode" rather than to this "check signal cable" state...

Now I use the i5's iGPU, with the mobo's VGA port, and it works like it has to, it sends the monitor to "power saving mode" if it's needed.

Also, with an other monitor I tested the Quadro 2000, with the same DVI-VGA adaptor, and it sends that display to power saving mode...

I utilized 2 different VGA-VGA cable, with the 2 monitors, does it matter? Thanks for any help in advance!

21 minutes ago, Mycielski said: