Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

GPU bios?

Jakers038

I'm relatively new to building PC's, but I know that the Bios belongs to the Motherboard, at least I think it does, since I only have a integrated gpu at the moment and the bios is the same as when I had my older card which I sold. However, RX 470/80 and I guess 570/580 cards have their own bios-es, so...how does that even work, is it essentially a separate bios you go into with a different button (opposed to pressing Del) that only deals with GPU settings or what?

I may buy a RX 470 soon and I'm wondering how overclocking works on it, I know that you just use Afterburner in most cases, but since the RX cards have their own bioses, maybe it's somewhat different with them...

The motherboard has its own BIOS (well, UEFI these days) that you can go into and change settings in (like boot order or overclocks for the CPU and memory). Changing these settings is very simple and even flashing a new BIOS is normal (but recommended only if you are having issues - if it ain't broke, don't fix it).

The GPU has a BIOS that contains the core and memory clock, voltage limits, a default fan curve and things like that. You can adjust these in software like Msi Afterburner or Sapphire Trixx. If that is not enough for you and you are an experienced overclocker, you can use a program to load your original BIOS, back it up, edit it and then flash it onto the GPU. It can be quite risky and there are very few reasons to do it.

Overclockers do it to unlock power limits, apply higher voltage than software solutions allow them to etc.

I've flashed both kinds of BIOS. Flashing a motherboard BIOS is very simple, but if you lose power during it, you could brick your board. (This is only an issue if you have a flaky power grid where you live.)