How likely is it for static discharge to 'kill' pc components?

Renegrade

Safety precautions have always been mentioned throughout build tips and what not. Sure, it tells people to be careful when handling CPUs, GPUs, MOBOs, etc. to prevent any electrical discharge to happen on those components.

But how likely is it actually that a static discharge would fry a component?

• Is it like, instantaneous? (eg. being careful for most of the build time, but the one moment you accidentally touch the PCB of the GPU, its dead forever).
  • or would there just be an x amount of chance that if the hardware experiences electric discharge, nothing would happen.

Knowing this happens from time to time, wouldn't manufacturers take into consideration, when designing a pc hardware, that they should put sacrificial components? (eg. the x part of this hardware will die first, before any static electricity to damage the rest of the hardware)

PS, I'm an aerospace engineering student, and most aircraft are filled with redundant systems (useless systems most of the time, but would be there as a back up). So I wondered if something is similar to the PC industry

No redundancy, let alone multiple redundant components in your pc should you actually discharge some static and zap something. I think Linus did a video of him zapping and killing off parts with an egg beater or something lol. I think some mobo and other component manufacturers are trying to incorporate some sort of added anti static or static negating safety features but if you actually zap something, its probably fried.

Some basic precaution is always good even if a lot of experienced pc parts handlers/builders will tell you that they don't really care for anti static ankle/wrist bands, nothing ever happens anyway. Just don't build/handle stuff standing barefeet on a carpet.