CPU for home server

I want to make a home server whose main uses will be file storage, game and web hosting. Nothing too critical or important. Which CPU should I use? How many cores, how much cache and what should be a min Ghz? Is Xeon much better for home servers? Max cost is 150 USD. I'm a complete beginner so sorry if these questions are stupid or the wrong ones to ask. Thanks.

AMD - Ryzen 5 1400 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
https://pcpartpicker.com/product/s8h9TW/amd-cpu-fd8320frw8khk
how would you rate this cpu?

What board? 

Total budget?

Id probably get something like this for the home server .http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-Optiplex-3010-D12M-Core-i5-3470-3-2GHz-250GB-2GB-DVD-RW-Mid-Tower-Desktop-/302304337631?hash=item4662be1edf:g:ZwQAAOSw~y9ZCe2E

Then add some more ram and drives and your good.

That cpu that you linked is a old chip, that uses lots of power.

GHZ and chip clock don't matter, the speed of the chip does.

that CPU is ancient - don't get it (a motherboard for that puppy would cost a lot if you wanted to buy new anyway)

if you have an old PC with a mid-high end CPU purchased in the last 10 years, it should be fine for a NAS.

NAS CPUs don't need to be strong. a G4560 will work just fine.

QUOTE/TAG ME WHEN REPLYING

Spend As Much Time Writing Your Question As You Want Me To Spend Responding To It.

If I'm wrong, please point it out. I'm always learning & I won't bite.

Desktop:

Delidded Core i7 4770K - GTX 1070 ROG Strix - 16GB DDR3 - Lots of RGB lights I never change

Laptop:

HP Spectre X360 - i7 8560U - MX150 - 2TB SSD - 16GB DDR4

Is ECC necessary? If not you could pick up a RYZEN R5 which has 4 cores and 8 threads. Specifically this one: 

https://pcpartpicker.com/product/72wqqs/amd-ryzen-5-1400-32ghz-quad-core-processor-yd1400bbaebox

(the extra $10 is offset by the included cooler)

Even if you do need ECC, Ryzen does kinda support it, on some boards.

Current LTT F@H Rank: 90    Score: 2,503,680,659    Stats