WTF is up with School These Days

So I thought I would post my frustatration here to let you all deal with it.

Simple Question: WTF is up with schools these days?

Background: I am a full stack developer for a company that creates and supports applications for agencies under HHS (US gov). In school I was hammered with Java from 9th grade through college (I am still in college while I work fulltime). Well ... when I got my current job I was tasked with a dashboarding application. I of course chose to go with Java and made a Java applet that I could load in the browser for our customer. After months of work and two all day-ers at the end ... I was ****-slapped in the face with the notification that the government (at least HHS does not support browser based applets). So WTF?!?!?!

Now I have changed paths and have sharpened my c# skills. I have leanred to deploy web apps into AWS GovCloud that can be consumed by government agencies and have begun making custom SharePoint deployments. But still ... wtf was I learning all of the Java syntax throughout my school for?

I thought this was a due rant because today Stanford announced that it was changing many of their computer science classes from Java to Javascript ... good for you Stanford!

Just seems like if you are not making phone apps or creating applications that run locally ... Java is not what we should be teaching our kids. Learn something universal and that is common in both commercial and government enviornments ... Javascript!

So ... tell me I am a dumb@ss or back me up and tell me that you are just as frustrated as I am in this.

3 hours ago, gspark05 said:

But still ... wtf was I learning all of the Java syntax throughout my school for?

You know that Java can do more than just build applets, right?

You know that a lot of companies use Java, right?

You know that no language is the best choice for every situation, right?