What to choose PCIE network cards only

danthemandra

Hi community,

I am a first time builder but I'm not new to computers hardware and etc. what I am new to is wireless networking. I used to always have a hard wire connection, seeing as it is the most reliable form of connection. So my friend sold me his night hawk ac3200 before I moved into my new place and I just got it all set up but how my new apartment is laid out and where my phone jack is located it is now impossible to have a wired connection. I am almost done buying the parts for my new x99 build that will be mainly used for gaming and streaming. I am just wondering what would be the best solution for a pcie network card. I am willing to pay top dollar if I have to but I don't want to spend money if I don't have to. What would be the best solution

Thank you for reading this long post btw

You'd likely be better off buying a set of powerline adapters than an expensive WiFi card. The quality of the connection will depend on the wiring in the building, but I've found it's normally much more stable and faster than WiFi. 

I am sorry I think my post was confusing I will change it now but it needs to be wireless however this solution would work if I needed a Ethernet card

I am sorry I think my post was confusing I will change it now but it needs to be wireless however this solution would work if I needed a Ethernet card

HAHA your good man, I'm just hella tired :P going on 24hours soon.

I am pulling about 80mbps with my router now and do not experience packet loss or high ping no matter how many people are on my network would I have similar network performance or bettrer?

You'd likely be better off buying a set of powerline adapters than an expensive WiFi card. The quality of the connection will depend on the wiring in the building, but I've found it's normally much more stable and faster than WiFi. 

Except this guy's:http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/517515-ethernet-worse-than-wifi/

Main Gaming Rig: