Is there a 50mbps+ capable modem worth buying cheaply?

Ren

I'm upgrading my internet due to some serious billing issues, and I'll contact them thoroughly about reimbursement tomorrow (this is relevant to the discussion).

Now, what options do I have for MODEMS capable of handling 50mbps..? Just an extra bit of info, I cannot afford a higher-end 50mbps+ modem replacement that may cost $80-$200+ unless they backcharge my billing method or possibly give me a service credit.

My current, according to customer support, isn't new enough to handle that technology. To be fair, there are many reasons why I wasn't notified of the speed increase for the same default price in emails, pamphlets or on my bill (I will bring this up, promise me). However, they are stating that it will cost at least $5/mo on top of the referenced package to replace my current modem lease the new one.

My current modem lease, with the sketchy bill I've been paying for 3 years+, is $10 on the bill. Sounds like a good deal if you're not aware of long-term costs. I am. What options do I have for 50mbps+ for cheap, seeing as it's unlikely they'll comply with the billing refund, even if I threatened to switch services? As far as I'm aware, I can't afford it. Even the worse ones may be out of reach, but I want consistency with my connection for multiple reasons...

Despite the overall cost increase with leasing, it is my only option. I'm hoping network gurus and enthusiasts can offer some reliable options. I know that a lot of brands are unreliable or give inconsistent connection levels, but if money is saved I can really help my financial situation.

Final slightly related note:

Q: If I'm having money issues, why is it I plan on spending more?

A: I am literally relying on this for a level of income. I was making by with the charges given prior, but had connection limitations. Sometimes it dropped down slightly and other times it was sketchy. Nonetheless, getting your money's worth is important.