Is Chrome OS a Viable Platform for Students?

MRC380
Go to solution Solved by Kiyuubi,

Open up the Chrome browser on a regular computer.  Can you do all of your computing just within the Chrome browser?  If yes, then the Chromebook is for you, if not, then no.

The title says it all. This topic applies to myself at the moment as i am a student looking for an inexpensive laptop solution for school work/projects.

I know Chrome OS does not allow you to install microsoft word and excel, as well as other Microsoft programs, however most of these programs are now online for free at:

https://www.office.com/ and they are all compatible with Google Docs. Yes, Chromebooks typically have limited storage and use small capacity SSD's for quick boot times, however if it is strictly for school work and web surfing then storage is not really a big concern right? Does this mean Chrome OS is a viable platform? Of course the major restriction would be that you always need to be connected

to the internet in order to do pretty much anything with a Chromebook, however what if you're a student (such as myself)? 

There is pretty much WiFI everywhere nowadays, including my school and nearby cafes. So if being connected to the web is no longer an issue, what is there that holds us back from pursuing Chrome OS as our platform of choice? Please leave your comments/thoughts below :)

P.S - I'm looking to buy a laptop for school, and seeing as how Chromebooks are inexpensive, I thought I'd get the community feedback before making a decision

A chromebook is a good idea for middle schoolers who do nothing but web browsing and youtube. The downside is that you can not run anything on them. At all.

(besides anything in the chrome webstore, that is)

A chromebook is a good idea for middle schoolers who do nothing but web browsing and youtube. The downside is that you can not run anything on them. At all.

pretty much anything you need for middleschool will run on a chromebook