The gaming community is full of BS

TheMechEngineer

The truth hurts, and I've found over the recent months that the gaming community would easily be the worst computer engineers on the entire planet. There are just so many myths and downright unsubstantiated lies that have mislead countless people into buying poor-performing gaming computers and wasting money on overkill components that make bugger-all difference.

I have to vent about this, because as an engineer it has made me downright frustrated at all the BS in the PC gaming community.

DISCLAIMER: I am no computer engineer, in fact I'm not even an electrical engineer....but I have a tendency to notice BS.

Here in this rant, I just wanted to list and rant about some of the many myths out there that can be so misleading for anyone building their first gaming computer.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MYTH #1: You need an 18-core processor to get the best framerate possible.

This is #1 because it pisses me off so much. If it's the job of the CPU to increase framerate, then what's the graphics card doing?

Here's a hands-on experiment to try: Start up the most resource-intense game you have, and play it with Task Manager running in the background. After a while, check out the CPU usage.

Shock horror!! The CPU is doing almost _nothing_. Damn right it's doing nothing. If this myth were real, you'd think the CPU would be pegged out at 100% usage, but this is nonsense.

When you buy a standalone graphics card, it's the GPU that does all the work. That's why it's a....y'know....standalone card with it's own memory, and all that.

Before some people start mouthing off and asking about running a GTX Titan X SLI setup with an Intel Celeron. YES there are limits to this argument. It would be stupid to do that.

But if you're getting an 18-core processor expecting to get higher framerates, you're badly mistaken.