Fan Controllers without a tach wire - in what way is that bad for PWM fans?

RevGAM

What is the disadvantage to such a hub or FC if the 3rd (tach) wire is missing? I know that a PWM fan can run without it, but at what cost?

It will negatively impact 3-pin fans as there will be no way to control the speed.聽

I've been using computers since around 1978, started learning programming in 1980 on Apple IIs, started learning about hardware in 1990, ran a BBS from 1990-95, built my first Windows PC around 2000, taught myself malware removal starting in 2005 (also learned on Bleeping Computer), learned web dev starting in 2017, and I think I can fill a thimble with all that knowledge. 馃槈 I'm not an expert, which is why I keep investigating the answers that others give to try and improve my knowledge, so feel free to double-check the advice I give.

My phone's auto-correct is named Otto Rong.馃お馃槀

It shouldn't affect the fan speed control for PWM fans or non-PWM fans. The controller can change the speed without the RPM. Most controllers will change the PWM % of the fan, and not aim for a specific RPM.

The big issue is you don't know if a fan has failed, but in a PC this isn't the biggest issue.

Just now, Electronics Wizardy said:

It shouldn't affect the fan speed control for PWM fans or non-PWM fans. The controller can change the speed without the RPM. Most controllers will change the PWM % of the fan, and not aim for a specific RPM.

The big issue is you don't know if a fan has failed, but in a PC this isn't the biggest issue.

I'm confused. If there is no tach wire, and the fan is a 3-pin, then the PWM cannot be used, nor can voltage regulation be accomplished because there is no tach signal, so how can this work for 3-pin fans? As far as I can tell, they'll behave like 2-pin fans - constantly at max speed.