Help picking a case for a DIY home NAS

nomnaut

I’ve had a need for a home NAS for my family for quite awhile. I have bits and pieces from old builds lying around that I’d like to cobble together for a home server. It has two purposes only: Plex server and steam server.

I have 4 HDDs 8 TB that I plan on putting in a raid 5 array (1 parity drive for 24 GB of storage), 1 256GB M.2 for the OS (truenas scale probably), and 1 2TB M.2 for the raid cache (I think? I’m still learning if that’s a thing I should set up). I already have an i7-8700k and a Z370 ATX motherboard, 2x8GB vengeance ram and a 750W ATX PSU. I also have a noctua U12S (er, model?) and an evga 280mm cpu cooler that I won’t be using; air cooling will clearly be enough.

While these aren’t ideal, it’s what I have and it should work. I plan on streaming one 4K stream max (maybe two someday, but if one is throttled, that’s fine).

Anyway, the one thing I’m missing is a case to fit this all in. I have a high white Corsair tower available, but it’s massive and ugly and I tossed the HDD internal tower tray long ago. I also have an NR200 but it’s an SFF case and my components won’t fit.

My ideal would be the smallest case that will fit an ATX motherboard, ATX PSU and 4 HDDs (with no GPU since I’ll be using intel’s igpu). Something around 40L or less.

So far, I’ve liked the Qube 500 and the Fractal Node 605 (if I can find one). I also considered the Corsair Q500L, but I’m not sure I can fit four drives (though I think I saw a thingiverse 3D print that acts as a drive case for the Q300, that may work in the Q500L). Maybe even a Zalman i4 ATX Mid-Tower.

Are either of these good choices? Doesn’t anyone have other suggestions?

Thanks for listening.

9 minutes ago, Sjaakie said:

Fractal Design CORE 2500 looks nice for that.

This is also a possibility. If Fractal Node 605 is indeed a possibility, I might opt for that just by virtue of its smaller size (and presumably lower price), though that's a big "if".