Building a NAS with Spare Parts

Bookhugger

Budget (including currency): <$500 USD

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for: NAS, Plex/Jellyfin, light game server duty

Hello all! I've had a streak of fortunate events that have left me with some spare hardware. I'm looking for some advice on how to best put it to use. I'm a photography student graduating in the spring and would like to have a true backup for my work. I won't be making serious money by taking photos for a while so I can't justify a proper prosumer solution. I am extremely ignorant to the world of servers or NAS's in general so please spell out any advice in beginner friendly terms. 

My current gaming system is:

i7 6700k

16GB Corsair Vengence

MSI Z270-A PRO 

MSI Duke 1080ti

Corsair RMX 850

NZXT S340 Elite

Current Storage Solution in the gaming machine is:

2TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus

5TB WD Blue

8TB WD Black

240gb Samsung 850 Evo (Old boot drive, sitting empty right now)

I keep my photos manually backed up on both the WD drives (if someone has a straight forward folder mirroring solution I'd love that to, everything I found was confusing af)

Recently Acquired Spare Hardware:

i7 8700k

Asus Strix Z370-E Gaming 

2x 10TB WD Red - These were hand me downs from a photographer friend, they were purchased in early 2019 and ran in a small dual bay NAS enclosure until now. How reliable are they? Is there any way I can check?

Also have my old i5 5600k

I have two main ideas for what to do with the excess hardware and I would love feedback on which y'all would recommend or if there's another option I've missed.

Regardless of my storage/NAS plans I will certainly be swapping the newer mobo and i7 into my gaming rig. Then my plans diverge:

One Machine- Bigger Case