Help, what type of NAND is this?

K.a.l
Go to solution Solved by Kilrah,
11 minutes ago, kale3000 said:

and most importantly, whats the total TBW of it

You can't get TBW from the memory itself, only from the whole device since what makes everything is how the controller handles wear leveling (MLC/TLC etc is alos a function of the controller). So you'd have to look at the specs of the drive itself.

Also TBW numbers are extremely rough estimations that don't really matter. Know some people who have exceeded the rated TBW by 10 times on some drives and they still work fine.

Every storage device should be treated as potentially failing at any time, so have them properly backed up and use them until they throw serious self-test warnings, fail, or become impractically slow.

so i hv this old Sandisk Readycache 32GB SSD that ive been using until now. Im a sucker for tech stuff so i just wanna know what kind of NAND is this? slc? MLC? or TLC?

it has 4 chips on it . And i think one NAND chip is around 8GB (8×4=32GB) .

that photo isnt of my ssd but its same as that

my NAND chip has these numbers on it

P320050581

SDTNPMAHEM-008G

WSD5020199SS

TAIWAN

(Google corrects that its SDTNPNAHEM-008G . maybe i hv a typo in my readings. )

i just want to know what NAND is this. and most importantly, whats the total TBW of it... i need to know when it'll stop writing more on it:) .

sandisk 32gb.jpg

11 minutes ago, kale3000 said:

and most importantly, whats the total TBW of it

You can't get TBW from the memory itself, only from the whole device since what makes everything is how the controller handles wear leveling (MLC/TLC etc is alos a function of the controller). So you'd have to look at the specs of the drive itself.

Also TBW numbers are extremely rough estimations that don't really matter. Know some people who have exceeded the rated TBW by 10 times on some drives and they still work fine.