Is Macbook Air M1 base model enough?

Will Macbook Air M1 8GB RAM and 256 GB SSD be enogh for programming. I'm a computer engineering student. Also I want to do some light gaming on it. Like playing retro games and playing not demanding titles. Should I upgrade to 16 GB and 512GB or is this enough for me?

I would highly recommend option for the 16G ram. 8G is "enough" but it increases disk writes significantly especially if you are doing heavy multitasking (like on most development environments). A friend and I got our M1 MBAs around the same time with only difference being is RAM and I got around 8 times less disk writes on mine (though his SSD wear was still at %98 with close to 80TB or so writes).

If you can stretch your budget, aim for the 16G model to be safe. As far SSD space goes its up to you, I am personally fine with 256G in work laptop and in my MBA (I do devops and some programming work).

mY sYsTeM iS Not pErfoRmInG aS gOOd As I sAW oN yOuTuBe. WhA t IS a GoOd FaN CuRVe??!!? wHat aRe tEh GoOd OvERclok SeTTinGS FoR My CaRd??  HoW CaN I foRcE my GpU to uSe 1o0%? BuT WiLL i HaVE Bo0tllEnEcKs? RyZEN dOeS NoT peRfORm BetTer wItH HiGhER sPEED RaM!!dId i WiN teH SiLiCON LotTerrYyOu ShoUlD dEsHrOuD uR GPUmy SYstEm iS UNDerPerforMiNg iN WarzONEcan mY Pc Run WiNdOwS 11 ?woUld BaKInG MY GRaPHics card fIX it? MultimETeR TeSTiNG!! aMd'S GpU DrIvErS aRe as goOD aS NviDia's YOU SHoUlD oVERCloCk yOUR ramS To 5000C18

1 hour ago, Gobel said:

Will Macbook Air M1 8GB RAM and 256 GB SSD be enogh for programming. I'm a computer engineering student. Also I want to do some light gaming on it. Like playing retro games and playing not demanding titles. Should I upgrade to 16 GB and 512GB or is this enough for me?