Moderate All-Around build with a quirky case layout. Feedback requested.

Well, it's time that I admit that my well-used laptop (nearly 10yo ThinkPad W510 - Intel i7-720QM & Quadro FX 880M) has a certain family resemblence to a Starchy Tuber. I've decided for a couple of reasons that I don't want to do the laptop thing again, but I do want something fairly compact. This would be my first scratch-build, though I have messed about in the case before, mostly back with 386/486/Pentium class stuff.

Budget: Flexible, but I'd like to see if/where I'm being inefficient. Current listing is ~$US900 all in on the electronics, not including case. I would love to get this number down to $US500ish.
Timeframe: Probably a winter project. I procrastinate, and I work in the retail sector, so no time to mess with Black Friday deals.
Use Case: Sort of moderately specd all-rounder, as I dabble in a lot of things. I'd like to hang on to it for a while.

•  Light gaming. I'll be quite happy with 60 FPS on a single montior w/something like minecraft. I never play AAA titles, mostly weird open-source/indy stuff or old backlog games.
  • Some 3d - think light blender use
  • Ditto photo/image manipulation (Hobby level photography - Gimp and Inkscape, depending on what I'm up to)
  • A bit of programming, possibly including compute-on-GPU - at a hobby level, so doesn't need to be the fastest at any one thing.
  • General utility work - browsing, stream video, video-conference. Not a high bar, but I do tend to keep massive numbers of tabs open when I deep-dive into something.

This is kind of where I've started:

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/Vbvmv3

CPU  AMD Ryzen 5 5600G 3.9 GHz 6-Core Processor (some alts in the listing)

$128.00     (Intending to use the stock Wraith Stealh cooler, or if aftermarket needed, something similarly low-profile.)
Motherboard   ASRock B550 Phantom Gaming-ITX/ax Mini ITX AM4 Motherboard
        $159.99