How to clone a 500GB Debian boot disk with plenty of free space to a 256GB SSD?

GameRetro
Hi, I have Debian on a tiny PC used as a home server, running Debian.

I wanna swap the 500GB disk for a 256GB SSD but not lose the bootability and any of the setup I've made.

So far I've only managed to shrink the volume on the 500GB disk down to 180GB using an ubuntu live bootable disk and attaching both drives to my main PC (windows machine). There is also an extended partition of 975M on the disk, and there's something called Swap underneath it.

I tried various guides but no luck. I tried some dd commands that broke the mbr record for the destination disk... I have very little knowledge of Linux so please bear with me.

Here's screenshots of the current GPARTED, gdisk -l and fdisk -l info of the disks:
( 500GB SOURCE DISK is /dev/sdd | 256GB destination disk is /dev/sdc )

Thanks in advance! I'll be online and available to try whatever you might suggest, and reply as quickly as possible.

Gparted should let you move that swap partition to the end of the main partition. Trhn clone the disk over to the ssd, then move the swap partition again and expand the main paerition.

9 minutes ago, Electronics Wizardy said:

Gparted should let you move that swap partition to the end of the main partition. Trhn clone the disk over to the ssd, then move the swap partition again and expand the main paerition.

Alredy thought of that and tried doing it - can't be moved.

EDIT: Just tried again. It' stuck to the end. I can expand it all the way but I can't then reduce the right side.

2 minutes ago, GameRetro said:

Alredy thought of that and tried doing it - can't be moved.

Are you booted from the the system your editing? You normally need to be booted from a live disk to do this,

You can also disable the swap file in /etc/fstab, then delete it and clone.

3 minutes ago, Electronics Wizardy said: