I'm looking to get a NAS as an alternitive to cloud storage, i've never had a NAS before

harvo_m

Hey, I'm very new to NAS's and I've been looking at a NAS to store all my videos (main focus, they aren't films, just a place to hold videos as a mirror sync to my pc), pictures and pc files on the cloud and as a backup. 

I've been looking at Synology DS918+, it would be really useful if it was attached to the internet with smart ai recognition for photos and videos to store all the photos in the cloud. I also plan to put 4x 4TB HDD (Seagate IronWolf 4TB NAS Hard Drive probably) 

• Synology DS918+ does this seem to fit my use case? or does it really suck?
  • is it really necessary to get NAS specfifc hard drives?
  • is what I'm doing really dumb because I have no clue, if so is there a better way?
  • do you think a UPS is necessary for this NAS?
  • is SHR or SHR2 a good choice when compared to raid?

• Synology DS918+ does this seem to fit my use case? or does it really suck?  Synology makes one of the best Consumer level NAS' on the market.  Their hardware is quality, and their software is extremely hard to beat, especially for less advanced users.  It's perfect for when you would rather have an appliance than a project and it comes with it's own plugin/app library to add all sorts of more advanced features

• is it really necessary to get NAS specfifc hard drives? NAS drives are typically recommended, but certainly not necessary.  There's some firmware shenanigans that give them a few more features than normal drives, and you may get a better warranty, but normal drives will work admirably.