Youtube and Steam running slow despite trying EVERYTHING?

Mr Grinch

Go to solution Solved by manikyath,

reinstall the drivers for your network interface.

Hello All,

this is my first time posting here and I really enjoy the LTT channel and all of it's content.  Therefore I figured this would be among the best places to ask this question and hopefully find an answer. 

If this issue has popped up once before on another post, I apologize and will promptly delete this post or request it deleted.  

I thank you all for your time in helping me look through this issue.  

What's going on:

YouTube is running painfully slow for some unknown reason.  Constantly stops and buffers even for 1080p even though my ISP can very easily handle 4K. Steam is also behaving strangely and has been very slow lately and fails to load preview images.  My PC is 2, going on 3 years old now and has never had this problem before.  And it is only effecting my PC, nothing else at all.  My Laptop has no issues, my Phone has no issues, My Smart TVs too have no issues.  Only this PC and I have no earthly idea what's causing it.  

• Gigabit ISP so it's definitely not a Bandwidth.
  • No other Devices having these issue.
  • No other streaming platform has this issue, only YouTube has the buffer of doom. 
  • Steam acting slow for some reason.  Nothing enough to cause performance issues but enough to raise concerns.
  • My PC runs Windows 10 but so does my Laptop and the laptop has no issues at all. 
  • PC is hardwired to the router via Ethernet Cord Cat 6.

What's in my PC (I don't think it matters for YouTube but just incase something's off that I don't know about)

• CPU - Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core
  • MOBO - Auros X570 Master
  • GPU - RTX 3090 MSI brand, latest driver
  • RAM - 32 GB, XMP Enabled (16 x 16)
  • PSU - EVGA 850W Gold
  • OS - Windows 10, heard bad things about 11 so I have not switched yet.  I do not plan to until the issues are fixed with that OS. 

What I've tried so far: