Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

LTT LAN Party from WAN Show -- Questions

Go to solution Solved by Chase Douglas,

I don't remember the whole WAN show clip, but we don't have plans to go through with doing separate VLANs within the LAN itself.

@LinusTech watching last weeks WAN show the discussion about the LAN gaming area in the LTT Lab building.  Lots of interesting thoughts there but as a network engineer, my brain started thinking about the networking aspects of what you are proposing.  Not just a (singular) LAN gaming event, but possibly multiple LAN gaming groups, playing different games.  What are the networking implications of doing this.  Has this been considered??

For example, would you simply deploy a single large flat network...  ie single vlan with a /20???  All gamers are L2 adjacent, rock and roll??? 

Or is there a benefit (beyond security) to segmenting this environment.  So lets say the Unreal Tournament folks are on vlan 10, PubG folks VLAN 20, CS-GO VLAn 30 etc etc etc.  What about segmenting based on group.  Kinda like renting a bowling lane.  You and your group show up, you get a Private VLAN, unique IP space...  You could deploy using Ansible and using dynamic routing could do automated turn up and turn down of these segments.  Could even go as far as Wifi so when a user logs on to wifi you could use something like 802.X to steer clients to vlan or MAC registration to land user to VLAN (not unique SSID that would be bad)

The main question here is would there be a benefit to this... Beyond security....  

Examples:  Private VLAN constrians broadcast traffic used for server and cient discovery.  Thus making group selection in game easier and less cluttered.