Help on an Ark Server Build. Recommendations/Advice?

Hi!!!

I am looking for some advice on whether or not this build would be good for hosting many instances of an Ark: Survival Evolved. I am planning on hosting 8 instances (2 cores and 8 GB per map). It is also recommended in some forums to have at least 3.0 GHz on the cores. If someone knows the answer to the exact GHz you need for it to run smoothly, please let me know. So I need to have at least 16 cores, and 64 GB of ram with some room to spare for operating system/general pc overhead. I also might later run a plex server on it as well. I have no real experience with servers and only really know a bit about gaming PCs. What Quadro/video card would be good for the encoding for streaming media?  Any advice would be great.

AMD Threadripper 2970WX 3 GHz 24-Core Processor

be quiet! Dark Rock Pro TR4 59.5 CFM CPU Cooler

ASRock X399 Taichi ATX sTR4 Motherboard

Corsair Vengeance LPX 128 GB (8 x 16 GB) DDR4-3000 CL15 Memory

Crucial MX500 2 TB 2.5" Solid State Drive

Western Digital Blue 4 TB 3.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive (3x)

Fractal Design Define R5 Black Silent ATX Midtower Computer Case

Corsair HX Platinum 850 W 80+ Platinum Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/cm8zk9

It depends a little bit how many players you want to have per server. According to my experiences this setup should be pretty overkill though.

Did you consider using a hosting provider (i.e. g-portal)? I wanted to host some servers too and figured it would be cheaper to host there than build my own machine. Also consider the energy costs (especially nowadays, when power costs are exploding).

For Plex you don't need a fast graphics card, any card capable of H.265-encoding should work.

2 hours ago, Big Weld said:

I also might later run a plex server on it as well.