Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Modem -> Ethernet-Only Router -> Wireless AP?

FlyScript

Go to solution Solved by cmndr,

Wired router.

Here are two options with 10 gig connections. Note, SFP+ requires you to either use DAC (direct attach copper cables) or an RJ-45 transceiver.

https://store.ui.com/products/udm-pro
https://www.amazon.com/QNAP-QHora-301W-AX3600-Fanless-SD-WAN/dp/B08MQT9ZCX

Posted (edited)

Hi all! May be a bit of a noob question as I'm new to networking. I'm basically looking to upgrade from my all-in-one modem/router combo to a more sophisticated ~2Gbps setup in a specific way.

My apartment layout is a little weird, as the Coax comes into the second bedroom (my home office with a few different computers I want to hardline), but it's not an ideal place for a wireless AP as it doesn't have great signal strength for the rest of the apt.

I'd ideally like to place a wireless AP out in the hallway, and have that run back to a wired-only router in said second bedroom (connected to a dedicated modem, then the line into the apt). The wired-only router would also handle all the devices in that room, maybe via a switch depending on how things grow.

Only, I'm not actually sure what the actual name of this wired-only, no WiFi router equipment I'm looking for even is! And the search terms I can think of being up almost exclusively WiFi routers. Does anyone know what I'm thinking of? Gateway? Wired-only router? Outside of rack-mounted thousand dollar enterprise options, I've seen stuff called "Multi-LAN Wired VPN Router", is that what I'm looking for?

To help illustrate what I'm trying to do, here's a diagram of my intended network configuration, with the gateway/bridge/wired-lan router/whatever it's called that I'm trying to find, highlighted:
449454965_networklayoutplanhighlighted.thumb.png.ba417ea5ed41c5def3289efda7c9eaee.png