Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Another O11D Mini Build for a Noob!

All,

I'm a FIRST TIME BUILDER. I've replaced ram, SSD, some minor electronic repairs in consumer electronics. Some in vehicles. Never built a computer. Part of this is to do it so I can say I did, even if its way more expensive than a PS5.

Time Frame: I'm not looking to build until September / October time frame at the earliest. I want to see the prices how prices for the Intel Raptor Lake, 4000 series cards, DDR5, see if LGA 1700 motherboards with DDR5 become more available before I buy 12th Gen, 3000 series, and DDR4. I might even be talked into an AMD setup.

Budget (including currency): 2000-2500ish USD. I will aim to keep it at or below 2k, as that's almost halfway to a new LS-12000 for the theater room. But since I'm planning to spending 500+ on a new GPU, I may end up north of 2000... It kind of depends on what I can get for what price at the time. I'd prefer a 3070TI, 3080, or one of the new 4070's since I think the 12GB RAM would help on the games I play (even if I don't know). I figure I could get a 3080 cheap after the 4000 series releases. I might even splurge on a 4080 depending on pricing on release and availability. I've estimated I need a at least a 3070TI by looking at Youtube videos of folks playing rust on different settings.

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for: Girlfriends possibly daily work PC (Her 8GB HP work laptop is terrible. She's on Teams way too much so the RAM is killing her, internet surfing, office suite), but she may opt not to use it. I would use for gaming (Rust, Doom, Battlefield 2042... I'm a combat vet so I like to shoot stuff and real bullets are expensive)