3 VMs 1 PC third build

Fi2ost

Budget 4-5k USD

CS GO, Minecraft, Doom Eternal, Light photo/video editing, Fusion 360. Typical home use. I would like to run three VMs one for me and one for each of my children all VMs in same room. Unraid.

Other details I am upgrading from a Lenovo P52 Intel Xeon E-2176, 64GB Memory + Nvidia Quadro P2000. M.2 1TB + 1TB SSD Neither of my kids have PCs yet.

I would like to build one PC for the house hold and run three virtual machines one for myself and one for each of my children. I have built three computers in my life, 15 years ago in high school so I am a bit out of the game, but I'm confident assembly wont be an issues.  I'll have more difficulty setting up the VMs as I have no experience in that department.  I would like my kids PCs to have resources allocated like the Entry Level or Modest Gaming builds on PCPart Picker and I would like my PC to have the resources of a Magnificent or Glorious Streaming/Gaming Build.  The VMs will occasionally all be run concurrently, I expect a majority of the time I'll be the only one using the machine.  

I expect to purchase anywhere from 6-12 months from now.  This is a new endeavor for me and I could use some help from y'all.

Attached is where I am now for parts (haven't picked storage)I would like something with a decent upgrade path. I plan on running four displays, two for myself and one for each of my kids. 

*I would also like the VMs to boot from M.2 Storage. 

VM Server.PNG

Edited by Fi2ost

Lol what is that motherboards price? Motherboards should cost max 300.

I expect to purchase anywhere from 6-12 months from now-.

Then why are we talking about it now?

Next gen Intel, AMD and Nvidia products will get released this year, they will be much faster, and more importantly, they will fit in your budget.