We Bought 6 Dead GPUs. Can We Fix Them? (SPONSORED)

SeanLMG

Thanks to ORIGIN PC for sponsoring this video!

To learn more about the ORIGIN PC Millennium 5000T and Intel’s 12th-Generation processors, click here: https://bit.ly/3IFZQY9

We bought 6 very dead and very expensive GPUs from eBay. Can we fix them?

I bet anything there was at least 1 that simply worked fine and wasn't dead , thats my prewatch prediction.

It gets deleted, but some problems people run in with their 2nd-hand GPU's is that some have a dated GOP-driver. Booting a system up in legacy-mode sometimes is enough. Perhaps a video covering updating the GOP-driver of a vBIOS is informative. I had to do it for my Sapphire Fury Tri-X to be able run it in UEFI-mode on my x570 board.

You guys said you were interested to know where to get GDDR6 modules from. I'm a technician from across the pond, and I'd be happy to reball some salvage modules from PS5 donor boards and send them over

1:30 in and mistakes are already being made that shouldn't be made...
When it comes to electronics, just applying power isn't usually a smart move. All though, the card has likely seen power while dead already, so this isn't the worst thing in the world by far. But for electronics in general it isn't wise to just apply power, do some analysis first, look for corrosion, broken components, shorts, odd dust, various liquids.

The tip about compressed air and fans is decent. The protection diodes aren't really "protecting" for a continuously spinning fan running at an RPM much higher than it ever were designed for. However, a slow spin isn't technically worth worrying about. (slow as in 100-400 RPM) 

And at 5:40 Alex gets redemption, for the mistake at 1:30.