Intel i5 8th Gen vs Intel i3 11th Gen Laptop, which would be better.

Go to solution Solved by jaslion,
On 1/29/2022 at 11:24 AM, thetallking said:

how much of a difference does a better cpu cache and 3200 mhz memory will make?

Doesn't matter in your case. Getting a laptop whit such a low res display is the biggest downgrade here. Everything else is basically identical and doesn't matter.

So, I have a 2.5-year-old laptop having an Intel Core i5  - 8265U 8th Gen with an 8gb ram (2400 mhz) and a 1080p display and 1TB HDD, I recently bought a new laptop for someone else with Intel Core i3 - 1125g4 ie 11th Gen with an 8gb ram (3200 mhz) but 1368x768 resolution with a nvme ssd. I am currently a student studying computer sciences and spend atleast good 10-15 hours on screen. Should I exchange my i5 laptop with theirs as on the specs front it looks more promising for my use but the only thing bothering me is that it is not a FHD panel. Its an IPS display but not a FHD one. please give me your suggestions.

6 minutes ago, thetallking said:

So, I have a 2.5-year-old laptop having an Intel Core i5  - 8265U 8th Gen with an 8gb ram (2400 mhz) and a 1080p display and 1TB HDD, I recently bought a new laptop for someone else with Intel Core i3 - 1125g4 ie 11th Gen with an 8gb ram (3200 mhz) but 1368x768 resolution with a nvme ssd. I am currently a student studying computer sciences and spend atleast good 10-15 hours on screen. Should I exchange my i5 laptop with theirs as on the specs front it looks more promising for my use but the only thing bothering me is that it is not a FHD panel. Its an IPS display but not a FHD one. please give me your suggestions.

FHD is a must have just buy a sata ssd and replace it in your laptop

I have an ASUS G14 2021 with Manjaro KDE and I am a professional Linux NoOB and also pretty bad at General Computing.

ALSO I DON'T EDIT MY POSTS* NOWADAYS SO NO NEED TO REFRESH BEFORE REPLYING *unless I edit my post