Looking for recommendations for a LAN / WiFi n-ac-ax Storage system that I can just go buy

RedroOrter

So I have some Mac and Android and PC devices, of varying ages (devices are compatible with n and ac and ax), and currently a 802.11n home WiFi and Cat6 cabling.

Also plan to use a Linux PC in the future.

I am looking for a way to connect about 5-10 TB of remote storage to my local network, that can keep up with average 802.11ax speeds, and is NOT accessible at all from the internet.  

It needs to support 10/100/1000 Mb/s cabled ethernet and multiple WiFi connections, at the same time.  I plan to upgrade my home WiFi later.

I don’t need RAID, as I am a noob wrt remote storage and that seems to make things more complicated for me.

Removable drives is a bonus.

So anyone have any recommendations for me, on what LAN storage solutions I should buy, and where (i.e. BestBuy.ca, or CanadaComputers, etc…) ?

Thanks.

RO.

P.S. Is this what is called a “File Server”?

38 minutes ago, RedroOrter said:

to my local network, that can keep up with average 802.11ax speeds

802.11ax speeds are between 2-10Gb/s so the rest of your setup would need to be upgraded to 10gig and you are looking at an NVME NAS to even scratch the top end of the rated speeds. (Sata SSDs will saturate a 2gig link) I would recommend against this line of thought unless you use the few specific situations a setup like this would be useful. Even standard harddrives can hit >100MB/s which will saturate a 1000Mb/s link which 99% of networks will be running anyway.

50 minutes ago, RedroOrter said:

It needs to support 10/100/1000 Mb/s cabled ethernet and multiple WiFi connections

option 1 is using an upgraded router or access point's USB3 header and use the router settings to give access to the drive. This uses a standard desktop USB HDD.