Recommendation for Budget Laptop for Editing

I am a teacher at a middle school, and this year I started working as an advisor for our middle school's Business Professionals of America (BPA) club. One of the things the students do in the club is create short videos, games, and websites and submit them as part of a competition against other schools in the state/country. We are able to get to the High School to use their equipment once a week, but it would be nice to have a laptop specifically for the middle school's use that can handle video editing. Ideally I'd like to spend no more than $500 (before tax, shipping, etc.), but if we need to go a little more expensive I think I can come up with the extra money somehow. Nothing over $1000 for sure.

The main program I need the laptop to run is Adobe Premiere Pro CS6. It doesn't need to be cutting edge, since this is just middle school, but I'd like the students to be able to load up and use the video editing software without having to wait 20 minutes for everything to respond.

Does anyone have a recommendation of either a specific laptop or a place to look into? Or maybe a specific component or set of components I should be looking for?

You can get a Ryzen 3500u or 4500u with 4 cores for that price.

Next you will need to upgrade it with another 8gb ddr4 stick so you can have 12gb total (assuming most of these laptops came with 4gb onboard).

Ryzen 5700g @ 4.4ghz all cores | Asrock B550M Steel Legend | 3060 | 2x 16gb Micron E 2666 @ 4200mhz cl16 | 500gb WD SN750 | 12 TB HDD | Deepcool Gammax 400 w/ 2 delta 4000rpm push pull | Antec Neo Eco Zen 500w

1 minute ago, SupaKomputa said:

You can get a Ryzen 3500u or 4500u with 4 cores for that price.

Next you will need to upgrade it with another 8gb ddr4 stick so you can have 12gb total (assuming most of these laptops came with 4gb onboard).