Is an eGPU worth it?

lieutent

I'm currently in the fortunate situation of having both a desktop (i5-8600/3060 Ti) and a good laptop for school (M1 MacBook Air). Reducing this all down to one machine that can be single-cabled into basically a desktop replacement sounds really nice as I'm a full time student and I have a 2TB 970 EVO I can put in it. I should also mention I already have a Razer Core V2, I bought one on eBay for $20 as broken and fixed it (cables needed to be reseated, absolute steal I know), and right now it's just a desk ornament. So the biggest tool needed for this I already have. 

I was looking at either the Framework with the 1165G7 or an XPS 13 with an 1195G7. Although I'm not sure if the 11th gen equivalent to the U series cpus are a good idea for this. I primarily play games like CSGO and osu!. The only problem I have is frame times have me worried on these G series chips about downclocking due to the power limit window they have. I know an H-series chip wouldn't have that issue to the same degree, but I can't find one that isn't either going to be really expensive, doesn't already have a dGPU, or has good battery life. At the moment in CSGO I'm used to maintaining 400fps w/ the lock consistently while playing faceit (exception of nuke and other new maps 😂). Would I lose that performance? I would be using the 3060 Ti I already own. 

Also battery life... Is it possible to get a laptop with an H-series chip and still hold over 7 hours of battery life while maintaining similar performance in games (and delay)? Before this I was using a Razer Blade 15 Advanced with an 8750H and a 2070 Max-Q and the battery life was atrocious. Not to mention I had to replace the battery 8 months into owning it. I know nothing is going to match the efficiency of the M1 Mac, but I'd at least like to get all-day when I'm not playing games, but when I'm using chrome, vsc, and microsoft office.

What's your guys' thoughts?