I have a dumb question that involves a CM 212 Evo and sanding.

mr fobs

I have an old Cooler Master 212 EVO from like 2013. The design has not changed at all. My question is about the copper tubes poking out the top. I have it in a new mATX build I just did and it is ever so slightly pushing against the side panel. I am wondering if I am able to sand the heat pipes, and if  so, how far until I ruin them? If this is extra dumb just yell at me.

Inkedc_LI.jpg

Sorry I probably edited my post. Refresh plz. Build Specs Below.

System

• CPU
    Ryzen 9 5900x
  • Motherboard
    ASUS ROG STRIX X570-F
  • RAM
    32 GB (2X8) Trident Z Neo 3600MHz CAS 16
  • GPU
    ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 3070
  • Case
    Corsair 4000D Airflow
  • Storage
    Sabrent 1 TB TLC PCI 4.0 NVMe M.2
  • PSU
    NZXT C850 Gold PSU
  • Display(s)
    MSI Optix MAG342CQR 34" UWQHD
  • Cooling
    Corsair H100i RGB Pro XT 240mm
  • Operating System
    Windows 11

1 minute ago, mr fobs said:

I have an old Cooler Master 212 EVO from like 2013. The design has not changed at all. My question is about the copper tubes poking out the top. I have it in a new mATX build I just did and it is ever so slightly pushing against the side panel. I am wondering if I am able to sand the heat pipes, and if  so, how far until I ruin them? If this is extra dumb just yell at me.

This is probably not feasible, but I shan't shout at you since you asked first 😉 

They are hollow and rely on being sealed, so if they are punctured, the effectiveness of the cooler will tank.

Bending them is "probably" safer than sanding, but it all depends on how badly it touches the side panel.

1 minute ago, For Science! said:

They are hollow and rely on being sealed, so if they are punctured, the effectiveness of the cooler will tank.