Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Where to ask pc related questions?

Youwei

I am quite new to pc world and was wondering where to ask pc related questions. I scrolled through the forums without seeing forum for just asking pc related questions.

Examples of where to ask these questions:

- How does hyper threading and multi threading differs?

- Where and how to read cpu reviews for specific uses?

- What order should I pick pc parts when building a pc?

- How to shop pc parts for specific uses?

- Or just where should I start my pc building journey?

1. These are not related technologies. Hyper threading is essentially splitting a single core into 2 so it can perform 2 tasks at once. Multithreading is about a program being able to use multiple threads to run.

2. Just look up a complete review for your cpu in question by a good source (so not userbenchmark and the like). If not available you'll have to look at some good synthetic benchmarks and extrapolate the results. Reading them well it's just like reading really. Cpu x has 400 fps in cs:go and y has 390 fps in cs:go so x is better in cs:go

3. Any order? Doesn't matter just buy em all at once.

4. You buy what you need? I mean to explain this I'd need pages of text. So basically since you are new just ask here for help with a partslist.

5. You say you want to do x, y and z, give a budget and ask for a build list. Then build it and carry on. If you are interested in more than just building one system for yourself just start watching videos, reading articles, forums,... you'll learn over time.