Rant about gaming on Linux from a Linux user

Master Disaster

This is an anecdote about something that happened to me yesterday/this morning and IMO the main reason why Linux gaming isn't ready for mainstream just yet.

I'm running Arch with Steam Native, AMDGPU, Mesa, AMDVLK etc etc, I have been using Steam for weeks with absolutely no issues at all. Everything I play works. I also consider myself to be a pretty advanced Linux user at this point, I'm not Anthony or Wendell but I'm also far from a beginner.

So yesterday a friend offered me a gift copy of Crash N Sane Trilogy on Steam, I accepted it after a long discussion about how I'm not really a crash fan and would probably never play it and he insisted it was fine.

I had a few hours free last night so I decided to give it a try, turns out its actually really fun and my "few hours" turned into 4 hours with me getting 30% through Crash 1 in one sitting (including replaying multiple levels for secrets which is something I NEVER do as a rule). Woke up this morning pretty late (it was gone 2am when I went to sleep) and did some Saturday morning chores, had a sandwich for brunch and decided to play some more Crash, fired her up and nothing but a black screen.

I had changed nothing since last night, I had installed no updates, hadn't touched any settings in Arch or on Steam, I literally fired up my computer, ran steam then ran the game.

I did a few ALT+F4s and restarts, same thing except I realised the game was running, just incredibly slowly, like the intro cut scene was running at 30 seconds per frame then once and for seemingly no reason it just worked. I quit and tried again and it was broke again. I went into steam settings and disabled the overlay, fired her up and she worked, thought I'd figured it out, quit and tried reloading again, broken again.

Whats weird though is all my other games work fine still, its just this one game.