Thinking of wiring up my home

Hi! 

I bought my home not too long ago and I since I am doing some remodeling I want to make a new wired network for it. I am a complete noob at this but so far this is what I have planned:

- I am unsure if I should add a hardware firewall. I have express vpn and I want to somehow incorporate it --  I'm not sure if I should get a new router.

- The items in the map are all of what I plan to have wired - I also have stuff I will be running on my wifi, like tablets, phones, printer, and ac hub (ecobee).

- I am considering using cat7 (see link) for all the wiring since a 1000ft spooler doesn't seem terribly expensive and I would be running the lines through the walls. I want each bedroom to have at least 2 ethernet ports and the entertainment room and office to have at least 4.  

- I have not decided what cameras, server for cameras, or poe switch ( maybe this one? )to get. I'm also unsure of what unmanaged switch to get. I am considering getting this switch

Thanks for taking the time to read this!

edit: I also found this Cat6a cable, but seems to be even more expensive than the cat7 I linked above?

networkmaphome1.thumb.JPG.2d1e35bc3e465de48ff7d73da98056ff.JPG

Edited by NephtisSeibzehn

Don't miss the greater happiness by being misled by minor sufferings

On 10/12/2021 at 12:50 AM, NephtisSeibzehn said:

I am unsure if I should add a hardware firewall. I have express vpn and I want to somehow incorporate it --  I'm not sure if I should get a new router.