3080 Ti for PC Gaming and Work

cjg5365

I am new to PCs and gaming so this might be a basic question. I have an EVGA 3080 TI FTW3 Ultra with the OC Bios turned on. 

I use my PC for both work (MS office applications, nothing fancy) and gaming (warzone, destiny, etc.) and want to know if its ok to turn off the GPU fans while I am working and then ramp them up when I am gaming.

Since I am not using any GPU intensive applications while I am working, I feel like having the fans spins around 45% during the entire day is pointless. 

Is it advisable to set a fan curve in MSI Afterburner so that from 0-50 degrees GPU temperature my fans don't spin. But once the GPU goes above 50 they turn on?

image.png.ce89fd5c6ef99574c0199e7aa420baf4.pngHere is the current fan curve. What is the significance of the dotted line at 30?

Does your CPU have integrated graphics? If yes, then use Nvidia Control Panel to set which applications you want the GPU to run and turn off applications that don't need the GPU like Word, PowerPoint etc. These applications will then use the integrated graphics on your CPU but I think you need to do some configuration in your CPU Graphics Control center as well.

Edited by Lesgoooo

2 minutes ago, Lesgoooo said:

Does your CPU have integrated graphics? If yes, then use Nvidia Control Panel to set which applications you want the GPU to run and turn off applications that don't need the GPU like Word, PowerPoint etc. These applications will then use the integrated graphics on your CPU but I think you need to do some configuration in your CPU Graphics Control center as well.

Thanks for the reply. I have a Ryzen 7 5800X so that's a no unfortunately 

18 minutes ago, connorconnor12 said:

image.png.ce89fd5c6ef99574c0199e7aa420baf4.pngHere is the current fan curve. What is the significance of the dotted line at 30?

idk about you but that doesnt look like a curve...

|:Insert something funny:|

-----------------

#

1 minute ago, connorconnor12 said: