Hey I wanted to get into game developing by my self as a side project for fun

Lia_owo

Hey, so I've been wanting a side project for fun to make a strategy game, somewhat like rise of kingdoms/civ6 and i was wondering what game engine should i use? if anyone got any tips.

Another question is if i should even bother with doing this?

ATM im just learning networking and i thought this would be fun doing this project but my brother who got gave me his course told me its a waste of time and the game dev wont teach me anything *im sorry if this offends anyone* i just wanted to know if im doing a mistake by trying this

thx

17 minutes ago, Lia_owo said:

Hey, so I've been wanting a side project for fun to make a strategy game, somewhat like rise of kingdoms/civ6 and i was wondering what game engine should i use? if anyone got any tips.

Another question is if i should even bother with doing this?

ATM im just learning networking and i thought this would be fun doing this project but my brother who got gave me his course told me its a waste of time and the game dev wont teach me anything *im sorry if this offends anyone* i just wanted to know if im doing a mistake by trying this

thx

What are you doing to learn networking?

Also I wanted to learn game design about a decade ago and used GameMaker 7. GameMaker Studio now a days is an awesome program and super easy to learn and make basic to advanced games with. I'd check it out.

Data Systems Administrator | Sergeant - US Marine Corps | CCNA / SEC+

Ryzen 9 5950x | 64 GB DDR4 3600Mhz | Gigabyte RTX 3080 Ti | Full Build Info | HomeLab Setup

I would say Godot or Unity, they have both a decent amount of tutorials and information for people without experience. Godot is better at 2D than at 3D, and Unity have a lot of assets ready to be used if that matters to you. Unreal Engine is also an option, but it might be more complicated to learn.